SSOE announces the 2008 Founders Award Recipients

At SSOE’s December Shareholders’ Meeting, the first annual Alfred H. Samborn Founder’s Awards were presented to 14 SSOE employees from 3 separate project teams.

These awards recognize individuals who exemplify the principles on which Mr. Samborn built the firm — quality, client service, and entrepreneurship.

The selection committee noted that the three teams distinguished themselves by delivering the ideal “SSOE experience.” They listened and responded to their clients’ needs, and achieved them through innovative approaches that resulted in significant cost savings and value.

One team’s innovative design and application of technology saved a major automotive manufacturer over $7 million in construction costs on a single project. Another team worked around the clock to get a manufacturer’s plant back online after an unexpected product recall and corresponding plant shutdown. They accomplished this in only 5 months although it would normally have taken 15-18. In addition, this team recommended improvements that will save the client over $700,000 a year in production costs. The third winning team customized SSOE’s already advanced 3D technology to save its client over $4.25 million dollars.

Each honoree was presented with an SSOE Founder’s Award trophy and a monetary award. We are proud of their accomplishments and congratulate them for delivering on the SSOE promise to “make our clients successful!”

Founders Award Recipients

Jonathan Bolbach
Jim Breznai, PE
Jon Faber
Ed Gerken, PMP, LEED AP
Zach Grant, LEED AP
Ted Love
Kirk Marchetto
Drew Mekus
Tim Michalski, PE
Mike Musgrave
Brian Nally
Frank Pinero
Pam Rossler
Jay Seppanen